Posted by: Vicky | January 8, 2011

20(ish) things I am going to do in 2011

I don’t usually do New Year’s resolutions. Because I’d never stick to them anyway. So why bother…

But this year I spent New Year’s Eve with two great friends of mine. And after we’d had dinner and played taboo and were getting slightly bored with almost two hours still to go until midnight, I half jokingly suggested that our next ‘game’ be to each make a list of 20 things we wanted to do in the coming year.

Of course, after taking ages to come up with 20 items (20 is a lot!) the moment I’d thought of the twentieth, one of my friends had an idea that I couldn’t possibly not add to my list as well, so I overshot the mark a bit. But I managed to limit myself to 21 items. After all, there’s always 2012…

Because item #15 is to write at least 1 blog post a week I meant to start writing this post earlier (well, actually, I meant to write it on New Year’s Day) so that it would still count as the 7th (i.e. the first week). Fail.

But as far as I’m concerned it’s still Friday the 7th, so I’m not giving up on #15 just yet.

And now (drum roll), here it is!

20 21 things I am going to do in 2011:

  1. Run the Bristol 10k in an hour or less.
  2. Run a half marathon.
  3. Get counselling.
  4. Continue to lose weight until I reach target.
    Or am happy with my weight if that happens earlier.
  5. Sew myself an item of clothing.
    But not until I reach target, otherwise it would be wasted effort…
  6. Buy a zip foot for my sewing machine and finally make some cushion covers.
  7. Go away somewhere on my own for a weekend.
    Or longer if I dare, but that’s extremely unlikely.
  8. Go to a theme park full of roller coasters with work mates (probably Alton Towers).
  9. Go to Go Ape
  10. Go camping.
    WHAT?! How did that get on the list?!
  11. Run to work at least once.
  12. Invite someone home for dinner.
  13. Start writing letters to Zilla, my brother’s girlfriend again.
  14. Set aside at least an hour to spend with God at least once a month.
  15. Blog at least once a week.
  16. Go on a road trip holiday, explore the UK by car.
  17. Read the book ‘The shack’.
  18. Tithe.
  19. Finally get round to actually doing something with the look of my blog, rather than just having a generic template.
    Also, I don’t like the title ‘I’m back, I’m as confused as ever and I can’t think of a sensible title for my new blog’. It was meant to be a very temporary measure and it’s still there 9 months later!!!
  20. Start a photo album. I.e. print out photos and stick them in a real life album!
  21. Go swimming on my own.
    By this I mean, venture into a public place wearing bathers without relatives or friends to hide behind and blame for dragging me there in the first place. This will also need to wait until I’m closer to my target weight…
  22. Advertisements

Responses

  1. love the list! might need to make my own:)

  2. […] a best of 2013 photo album. After all, it’s been on my todo list for years (see item 20 on my 2011 list!) and I still haven’t started that photo […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

