Posted by: Vicky | January 24, 2011

I’m a geek on so many levels

One of them is words. I love reading. I also love proofreading and editing text. I know, freak.

I love it as long as there aren’t too many mistakes. I like to feel like the author of whatever piece of text I’m proofreading has actually made an effort, rather than left it all to me.

I’ve just finished marking a short story one of my work mates wrote years ago and is now brushing up for submission to the Bristol Short Story Prize that after I mentioned it to him at the post Christmas party on Friday.

I love his story, it’s such a strange, bizarre, clever idea (it’s so him). But it needed a little bit of tweaking. So I’ve just spent an enjoyable half hour correcting his tenses* to be consistent and trying to work out why I feel ‘fictitious’ should be replaced with ‘fictional’ in a particular sentence.

Of course this required one or two trips to the Free Dictionary. And the Free Dictionary is one of my geeky downfalls. It has word games. I *heart* word games. I can get stuck for hours playing hangman and spelling bee. (I’m so ashamed)

And I get extremely annoyed when I do ‘match up’ and it fails to accept my answers, then tells me I only got 3 out of 5 right. I got them all right! You’re just not working properly you LYING CHEATING PIECE OF SOFTWARE!!! Of course I know that munificent goes with prodigal! (Process of elimination.) HOW STUPID DO YOU THINK I AM?!

Er. Indeed. Not that I’m competitive or anything.

No, it’s not true that if my score drops below 70% on spelling bee I’m stuck on the page until I get it back up! Not at all. *cough cough*

* Is that correct, one tense, two tenses? Sounds wrong

Leave a Reply

Categories

