Posted by: Vicky | January 31, 2011

Frugal February

My mind seems to be blank this evening.

So, in an extremely lazy kind of way, let me tell you I’ve signed up for Gemma‘s Frugal February (see the rules here).

I spend way too much money on things I don’t really need, such as DVDs, books, jewellery, CDs, magazines, clothes, and so on and so forth. The list is endless.

But not this month. This month I will not buy anything I don’t need.

Thank goodness February is the shortest month of the year :)

The first day of Frugal February looks set to be one of the most challenging. At least, I certainly hope the rest will be less challenging!

Tomorrow morning I have a dental appointment in town, right in the middle of all the shops. And being me, I will probably arrive half an hour early from fear of being late. Originally (before I decided to join Frugal February) that sounded like a wonderful plan. Wandering round the shops is a lovely way to kill time. I’m sure the dentist wouldn’t mind if I showed up laden with shopping bags.

Nope. No buying stuff. Darn it!

Then, tomorrow evening I’ve got weigh in. Usually I buy a packet or two of hi-fi bars, just because they’re so delicious not because I’m anywhere near close to running out. And often a recipe book that I glance through for inspiration and then relegate to the book shelf for eternity. And I buy 5 tickets for the raffle (they’re only 10p a pop) to increase my odds of actually winning something.

I love to shop :(

So, my resolution for Frugal February’s weigh ins is as follows:

  • I will not buy any recipe books or magazines!
  • I will not buy more than 1 raffle ticket each week!
  • I will not buy hi-fi bars unless I am down to 2 or less bars!

Wish me will power!

Leave a Reply

Categories

