Posted by: Vicky | February 3, 2011

PLEASE can I buy something?!

Just kidding. I’m three days into Frugal February and it’s going swimmingly.

That probably has quite a lot to do with the fact that my January was not the least bit frugal. I’m still receiving packages with books and CDs I ordered in January. So I don’t really feel like I’m not buying stuff.

Having said that, the moment I’d signed up for Frugal February, I discovered various things I desperately needed wanted.

Jon Scalzi’s Big Idea posts have not been helpful. But I’ve stuck to my guns and simply added some books to my Amazon wishlist. I’m not sure that Frugal February was meant to be about collecting lists of what to buy in March, but it seems to be heading that way for me. Ah well. Maybe by then I’ll have got into the habit of not spending money frivolously. And cute little pink pigs will be whizzing through the sky as I drive to work in the morning.

I’ve also been browsing clothes shop websites and lusting after pretty clothes. Mainly swimwear for my Gran Canaria holiday in May. WOOT! I’m going on my first ever grown-up beach holiday! But I’m not very tempted to actually click ‘add to basket’ because I don’t know yet what size I’ll be by then. So I’ll be buying swimwear nearer the time. Must try not to go mad when I do and end up with 5 sets of bathers for a week’s holiday ;-)

While I’m on the subject of clothes sizes, today is a landmark day. I am officially a size 16 top AND BOTTOM! I’m so delighted, I can’t think of anything sensible to say about it. *HAPPY DANCES*

In fact, I also fit into my pretty pink dress in a size 14!!! I wouldn’t wear it out in public yet, because a certain part of me still needs to shrink a bit before I can feel comfortable that it won’t embarrass me by unexpectedly spilling out of the dress. But I can close it all the way! And it doesn’t look too tight unless you see the top from quite close up.

I’m so pleased with it, that I actually just put it on and took a picture of it to show everyone. I do like trying on clothes. And now, thanks to Slimming World, I’m actually willing to present pictures of myself to the world. It’s a miracle!!!

I’m not great at taking pictures, the lighting’s bad and my bedroom needs tidying up a bit. But the dress is worthy of happy dances! It cost all of £8 in the Next outlet New Year’s sale (which was back in January. Before I’d even heard of Frugal February). Woot! That is definitely going to Gran Canaria with me! And possibly to Edinburgh for the bloggy meetup in May :-)

Sorry about the length and rambling structurelessness of this post. I will try to do better in future.

YAY! I look good! :-)

Responses

  1. You look lovely!
    Hooray for Slimming World! x

  2. The dress looks fab – you should join frocking fridays too and show it off to the world!

  3. That dress looks fab hon, you should def bring it to Edinburgh!

  4. yay! you must be chuffed. and youve got great legs missy!

  5. Thank you very much for all the compliments!

    @Gemma: Not sure I’m ready to join frocking fridays. Give me a few months to get used to the fact that I might actually wear a dress in public volontarily ;)


Leave a Reply

Categories

