Posted by: Vicky | August 18, 2012

We made it to Marazion

I’ve decided to try something new. I miss blogging, so I’ve brought my laptop to Cornwall with me in the hope that relaxing and being surrounded by beautiful scenery will inspire me. So far I’m feeling more wiped out than relaxed, but it still seems to be working :)

I found an advert for my bread :)

After an almost 4 hour car journey trying to avoid crashing into the back of some spectacularly moronic drivers, I arrived in Marazion, Cornwall with my Grandma, my aunt, uncle and four cousins.

Apparently today was meant to be the hottest day of the year, so of course today was the day we went on holiday in two cars without air-conditioning. We might have arrived slightly soggier than we set off.*

My aunt booked the house less than two weeks ago after looking at holiday houses in Northumberland and Cornwall. I looked up Northumberland on a map.** It’s about as far away from Cornwall as you can get and still be in England! I still haven’t got to the bottom of where the two options came from.

– Let’s go on holiday to Cornwall!
– Good idea! Or if there’s nothing available in Cornwall on such short notice, Northumberland is in the same direction, right? No? But it’s the same kind of place, same weather and everything? No? Never mind. If Cornwall doesn’t work, Northumberland sounds like a perfect alternative.

:S

Don’t get me wrong, I have nothing against Northumberland, in fact I kind of ended up rooting for it out of curiosity. I just don’t see how the two options go together.

Anyway, due to the very last minute booking we were all a bit sceptical about the quality of the accommodation. But we got here to find an incredible house that seems to be newly renovated. In fact, we’d pretty much like to move in and just stay here.

Ok, there are some minor issues, like the fact that the lock on the bathroom door doesn’t work. Um, ok, that is really more of a major issue. But still, we’re used to that kind of thing. There’s a random wooden figure of a cat that now stands guard in front of the bathroom door when someone is using it.

The view from the window in my huge top floor bedroom is spectacular! It feels as if I can reach out and touch St Michael’s Mount. I tried to take a picture, but the battery on my camera was dead. By the time I realised I could use my phone, the view had changed to this

I’ll try again tomorrow ;)

* and it was only in my youngest cousin’s case that it could be blamed on an I-need-the-toilet-oopsy-never-mind situation

** I grew up in Switzerland. It’s my excuse for why I’m bad at UK Geography and I’m sticking to it. Just don’t ask me about Swiss Geography…

Leave a Reply

Categories

