Posted by: Vicky | January 23, 2014

And I was doing so well…

I haven’t been perfect with regards to not buying stuff I don’t need this month, but I’ve been really good compared with non-saving Vicky. I even managed to resist the Firefly USB Thumb Drive, even though no-one could have blamed me for succumbing to that! Who could find fault with a model of the Serenity at all, let alone a useful USB drive version?! Nobody, that’s who!

I admit, I slipped up a few times, but not too badly. I failed to resist season 3 of Sherlock Holmes, but again, who can blame me for that?! :)

But then World Book Night popped up on my Twitter feed and wrecked it all!

I have to admit, I’m not actually going to get involved with World Book Night, as I can’t see how I can reach people who don’t regularly read (and I’m too lazy to spend much time thinking of a way).

But I’ve had a look at the list and decided they look fun, so I’m going to try to read at least one of them a month this year. So I should have read 12 or more of the 20 on the list by the end of the year.

It’s not that I need an incentive to read, but since the dawn of my kindle I’ve kind of got stuck in a rut of reading lots of cheap, trashy romance ebooks. So maybe I can kick start my non-romance reading again.

Having said that, when I went on my spending spree, buying all 20 books at once, Amazon reminded me that I bought the Nora Roberts book back in 2011. Of course I did :)

I’ll try to keep you posted on the books, but no promises :)

And now I’m either going to start re-watching Firefly (that box set turned out to be one of the best birthday presents ever, although I was initially very sceptical about it!) or I might watch Dark Fury, as I’ve got the new Riddick film arriving on Monday. I think it’s going to take me a while to get into the habit of this saving money malarkey… ;)

Leave a Reply

Categories

