Posted by: Vicky | January 29, 2014

Payday vs willpower

It’s payday today. I’ve shuffled the money around as I do every payday. Paid off credit cards, moved some into savings accounts. And now my bank account has lots of lovely money just sitting there.

Ooh, look, shiny, pretty things for sale! Geeky toys! That film I loved so much that I went to see it twice and now NEED to own on DVD! Books! Both paper and electronic! Clothes! Shoes! Ooh, the Merlin Pass is on sale, I’ve always wanted one of those!!!

It’s so much harder to resist spending money this side of payday. It looks like I’ve got got lots of money to spare, because none of the bills have gone out yet. And I’ve been good for the pre-payday slog, so don’t I deserve a treat? No. I’ve got lots of lovely new things that I haven’t even got around to enjoying yet, I don’t need a treat!

I’ve made a mini saving resolution for the next few days: not to buy anything unnecessary before February has even begun!

It sounds like such a small thing, but shopping has become a habit for me. ‘Confessions of a Shopaholic’ was an uncomfortable watch for me, because it hit a little close to home. Okay, on a different scale with regards to the prices of the things I buy. But the basic issue is there.

I didn’t feel uncomfortable reading the book. What made the difference (I think) was that I went to see the film with two lovely, but quite straight laced Christian friends, who spent a lot of the time tutting and shaking their heads. The discussion afterwards went something like this:

Friend 1: I don’t understand why she kept on buying stuff! She didn’t need any more shoes!

Friend 2: I agree, it made no sense! How can you waste your money like that? I didn’t like the film, how about you, Vicky?

Vicky: Um, hem-hem, the book was much bett- oh look, there’s our tram! Quick, run!

I’m going to retrain myself. No more shopaholism. And since it fits right in with the concept, this is the year that I do Frugal February properly :)

Wish me luck…


Responses

  1. […] spending February’s money before February’s even started” resolution that I made on payday, today has been one of my more spectacular fails. I’ve spent almost £300 on non-refundable […]


Leave a comment

Categories